About me

Hi, my name is Grega Radelj and I am a web developer from Slovenia, Europe.

Here’s a short story about how I got into plugin development.

As a full-stack web developer with 8+ years of experience in working with a variety of open source technologies, I am familiar with all layers and stages of software development.

I have worked with CodeIgniter a lot in the past and have gained most of my pre-WordPress experience from developing custom CMS systems and modules for those systems. I have developed video and graphic modules, page builders, text editors, news systems, galleries… One of my favorite projects was a cloud user management system that included Facebook and Google login/registration. I have also developed a couple of custom CodeIgniter-based webshops with PayPal integration.

In the last few years, I have been working with WordPress a lot. I’ve built countless WP-based websites and webshops and created quite a few custom themes. Although I like playing around with different technologies, themes and plugin, I didn’t find much of a challenge in just building websites.

So I started with WP plugin development. At first I used plugins to extend some basic functionalities on some of the websites I was developing. They were simple site specific plugins, but enough to get me interested.

After that I got a bit more involved and started working on projects simply to learn more about WP plugin development. I soon wanted to do more than just simple extensions and I was always full of ideas anyway, so I started working on my first public plugin – Custom Products for WooCommerce.

I am a bit of a perfectionist and I believe there is a right way for doing everything. I don’t like to use hacks and “quick” fixes. Sure, sometimes they can save you quickly, but most of the time they will come back to haunt you and you will regret it later (trust me). Therefore I insist on getting things right the first time, even if it means it will take more time. Luckily, WordPress makes that easier as they seem to have a function ready for just about anything.

When I am not developing, I like to make homemade pizza, watch series and play games.

I am also a huge fan of everything on wheels. I skate, ride a KTM motorbike and a downhill bike.

Oh and I love dogs. I must pet every dog I meet. I also have a big black Labrador retriever following me around at all times.